The first one, the hardest

The first time you approach to something new, it’s always the hardest, no matter what you’re up to. The first day at school, the first exam, the first date, the first time you get into a new gym, the first time you have to talk to an audience, your own first photo exhibition, the first job interview… you name it!

So today it’s the time for my first post.
I’ve had a Flickr account for few years now, but I started to feel it was “not enough”. When I edit a photo, as well as when I shoot, I completely lose myself in it. I feel like Alice in Wonderland, when she falls down the rabbit hole and she is overwhelmed by all the stuff that pops around her, or like Joel in the Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, when he finds himself revisiting his memories, all kinda mixed up and in a sort of dream state.
That’s pretty much what it usually happens to me: words from songs lyrics, movies scenes and books verses, they all appear suddenly to my mind, so that I stay lost ‘inside’ the photo until I find the way out. And, as it’s a nonsense to live an experience or an emotion and keep it for yourself, I share the results of my getting lost.
So, here we go.

I’m quite not sure why I decided to start from these three photos. On Facebook, one of the pages I follow is Leica Talent Italia, which is the Leica Camera Italia official page. Last year, to celebrate the Leica M Monochrom release, they gave birth to their first collective album, named “465 Shades of Gray”, made of the best works they would have received. All page’s followers had the chance to see their best b/n shots published, sending up to three photos. Not a big deal, alright. Yet, when you are a total beginner, you won’t miss a chance to measure yourself.
The page ended up publishing 261 photos. Two of those were mine.

These are the three ones I sent. All of them were taken in Paris, March 2011.

Place du Trocadero
Now. I’m a total crap when it comes to pick some photos for contests/ magazines/ exhibitions
And, apparently, the less I like one of my photos, the more people love it.

Centre Pompidou

Quite ironically, the one I like better, usually doesn't get a positive feedback. This one was not even published by Leica.
Quite ironically, the one I like better, usually doesn’t get a positive feedback.
This one was not even published by Leica.

7 thoughts on “The first one, the hardest

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand | Giulia Bernini photography

  2. Welcome to WordPress!! I look forward to seeing more of your work! And isn’t it funny … we just never know which of our photos will strike a chord with someone. I’m a complete amateur, but I’m having a blast! You will love the community of WP!

    Like

  3. Yes, I also often find that people love most the pictures that I don’t think much about myself. The last photo of the above is my favourite of this series!

    Like

Leave a Reply

